Nevada’s booming cities and bright lights draw drivers from different regions to try their luck in life. Black American Express cards, blackjack, and black diamond slopes all make their way into this amazing Battle Born State. In case you skid probably on a patch of black ice on one of the winding mountain roads in Nevada, it’s wise to learn the following car accident compensation laws in Nevada.
Modified comparative negligence and ‘at fault’ laws
Modified comparative negligence laws require you, the injured party, to prove that you were no more at for your injuries than the driver you are suing. Additionally, this rule requires the court to lower any damage award in percentage to your fraction of fault. This implies that if the other party sues you for $100,000 in damages and the judge finds that you were approximately 60 percent at fault, you will be ordered to $60,000.
Car accident lawsuits involve complex processes. After all, no one ever wants to be at fault. Therefore, it’s advisable to look for an auto accident lawyer in Vegas to help you navigate these complex processes. An experienced lawyer who has been handling cases similar to yours understands the pitfalls to avoid and can represent you in court.
Types of damages
If you were involved in a car accident, do you know that you can potentially recover something more than just money damages? These money damages are also called economic damages and you can recover non-economic damages as well.
Sometimes, you may suffer injuries that are difficult to pin a price tag on. For instance, you can’t calculate the amount associated with emotional distress, the loss of companionship or affection and the pain and suffering associated with the physical injuries from the car accident.
The common car accident damages include rental car costs, lost income, and medical expenses. Besides, vehicle repair or replacement expenses and all other out-of-pocket expenses are often considered as car accident damages.
Limits on the damages
If you’re vulnerable or 60 years or older and you prove beyond any doubt that someone’s negligence caused your injuries, the court may award you double damages. These are punitive damages. In case you’re such a victim, prepare yourself for punitive damages perhaps to be limited to triple your compensation particularly if your compensatory damages are $100,000 or more.
In case you were injured because of a willful misconduct of a minor, that doesn’t mean you will never be compensated. That minor’s parents are held liable. The amount to be compensated in this cases shouldn’t exceed $10,000. If in any way the state is a party at fault for your bodily injuries, you must file the lawsuit within two years of the accident. Besides, your damages (excluding any form of interest) must not exceed $100,000.
Generally, the law requires you to file a lawsuit for personal injury claims within two years even if the state wasn’t at fault. You can also file a claim for any form of property damage within three years of the accident. Lastly, if you are a pet owner, you can recover up to $5,000 for injuries to each of your pets.